Anatomy of the BRAND NEW True Blood Trailer Released at Comic-Con 2010!

Tonight, the True Blood cast held a panel session at Comic-Con 2010 in San Diego.   I wasn’t there . . .

But I DID manage to snag a copy of the BRAND NEW trailer for the second half of Season 3, which was released during the panel session . . .

And, of course, it was AWESOME!  Check it out . . .

OK.  It’s time to ANALYZE THE HELL OUT OF THIS THING!  So, remove your jaw from the floor, retract your fangs, put your shirt (and pants) back on, and let’s get to it, shall we?

:07 – I don’t know about you, but this has always been how I preferred my Vampire Bill:  Hot, Shirtless and Chained to the Floor where he can’t get in the way of the inevitable Sookie / Eric lovefest going on nearby.

:08 – Who knew that when Franklin Mott bought Tara that UGLY ASS NIGHTY / WEDDING DRESS (probably back in the early 1800’s), he had also purchased a matching one for HIMSELF! 

(At least he finally SHAVED though.  That morning stubble must have been HELL to wake up next to . . . and I’m not talking about the one in his pants. . . )

:16 – It looks like Creepy J.J. from Big Love the Magister has got Pam!  That’s not good . . .

:17 – Hey, Vampire Bill!  That’s a nice tan your sporting!  How did . . . wait . . . uh oh!

:28 – ERIC: “I don’t know what it is.  But I know it is quite valuable.”

Look how lovingly Sookie looks at Eric, even when he is trying to pawn her off on the Big Gay Vampire King, like she’s some early 19th-century antique (Vampire Bill?).  But seriously, can you blame her?  Have you SEEN what Vampire Eric looks like in that Baby Blue Panty Dropper Sweater of his?  He can sell ME to the highest bidder, ANYTIME!

:32 – Shirtless Tommy Mickens (Marshall Allman) – Not really my cup of tea, personally.  But someone found this blog by searching for THIS EXACT IMAGE.  And I DO hate to disappoint my readers  . .  . So, here you go!

:35 – OK.  I’m confused.  When did I STOP watching the True Blood trailer, and randomly switch over to outtakes from the movie, Deliverance?

(Cringes, as “Dueling Banjos” plays in the background.)

:37 – Question: When white trash gets cleaned up, is it called “White-Washed Trash?” 

 (I didn’t like that comment Mommy Mickens made about Sam not being “family,” one bit, by the way.  But it DOES confirm what I always thought about her character.  Hint:  It rhymes with “masshole.”)

:41 – SHIRTLESS STACKHOUSE ALERT!   SHIRTLESS STACKHOUSE ALERT!

It looks like him and Crystal will be getting VERY CLOSE, VERY FAST . .  . and that her family doesn’t approve of the coupling AT ALL.  Awww . . . it’s like Romeo and Juliet . . .

 . . . if Romeo and Juliet took place in a trailer park in Louisianna . . .

:43 – Way to go Jason!  Whipping out the BIG GUNS!  (And I’m NOT talking about artillery . . .)

:53 – I just LOVE when Vampire Eric gets all up in Sookie’s personal space . . . and so does SHE!

(Note: I’m pointedly choosing to IGNORE that MEAN thing Eric said to Sookie in this scene, because his body language here CLEARLY implies otherwise . . .)

:54 – Speaking of foreplay . . .

1:00 – Of course, it wouldn’t be a True Blood trailer without at least one, “BEEEEEEEEELLLLLL!”

1:04 – It’s nice to see our former BFF’s, Sookie and Tara, bonding again.  It’s also REALLY NICE to see Tara (1) out of captivity; (2) in the sun (It means she’s not a vampire yet.); and (3) dressed in normal clothes from the 21st Century . . .

1:09 – First Deliverance, now The Matrix?  I think this trailer is broken . . .

(Actually, I’m pretty sure that Leather Chick is Vampire Spokesperson Nan from Season 2 . . .)

1:13 – White fur?  Red glowing eyes?  Ladies and gentlemen, I think we have just met our first WERE-VAMPIRE!

(Some vampire lore states that if a person consumes enough vampire blood, he or she can become a vampire without actually . . . you know . . . dying.  If that’s true HERE, and all those werewolves have been consuming Big Gay Vampire King Russell’s blood for lord knows how long, this is some SERIOUISLY BAD NEWS for Sookie and Co.)

1:14 – ALCIDE:  “I don’t take orders from vamps!”

Oooh, Alcide is SEXY when he’s angry!  And he’s sticking it to Vampire Bill too .  . . which makes it even hotter.

(By the way, I heard they just recently announced that Joe Manganiello, who plays Alcide, has officially been awarded SEASON REGULAR status!)

Here’s a little something to help you celebrate this AMAZING news!

And another SOMETHING . . .

You’re welcome.

1:19 – SOOKIE:  “If I knew what was best for me, I would have fallen in love with someone like you.”

(Get in line, Sookie!  Get in line . . .)

1:24 – SOOKIE:  “GET .  . . OUT . . . OF MY HOUSE . . . B*TCH!”

YEAH!  You go, Bad Ass Commando Sookie!

Be afraid, Trashy Debbie She-Mullet!  Be VERY afraid!

1:34 – Don’t you just HATE IT when you get stuck in the ceiling, next to the multi-million dollar chandelier!  I know I do .  . .

1:47 – You know, for some reason, every time I see Lorena, I get that song by Flo Rida stuck in my head.  “You spin my head right round, right round, when you go down, when you go down, down.”

I can’t imagine why . . .

1:53 – Poor Sookie!  If  this was any other character on this show, a picture like this would have me really worried.  But it’s SOOKIE .  . . so, I’m not.  

(No Sookie = No True Blood, and if the ratings are any indication, this show is going to be around for a LONG, LONG time!  Therefore, I’m thinking our girl is going to be just fine.  Just a little hunch I have . . .)

1:57 – Hey, I don’t like this Dream Sequence!  A Dream Sequence without a shirtless male in it, is like  . . . well . . . I don’t know what it’s like . . . something LAME though, that’s for sure! 

2:01 – Here is our first glimpse of Claudine (played by Lara Pulver). She was a fairly important character in the latter half of Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse Book series.  Unfortunately, I can’t TELL you what role she plays in Sookie’s life, because I don’t want to spoil it for you.  I CAN show it to you though . . .

(Warning: Spoilerific picture, below.)

And there you have it.  The new True Blood trailer in a nutshell.  So, what did you think?

[www.juliekushner.com]

15 Comments

Filed under Spoilers and Sneak Peaks, True Blood

15 responses to “Anatomy of the BRAND NEW True Blood Trailer Released at Comic-Con 2010!

  1. (i’m not proud to admit this, but i got bored of reading my casebook and picked up a few of the Sookie Stackhouse books & now, i’m addicted to those too!)
    but back on point, is it bad that i was happy to see Claudine at the end of this trailer b/c it means that Cluade will be making an appearance soon? 😀

    • YAY! Now I have someone to talk about the books with! I remember getting hooked on them around the same time True Blood was finishing up its first season. I think I devoured the first seven in under two weeks.

      Admittedly the 8th through 10th weren’t quite as good as the original ones, but they are still a guilty pleasure of mine. Apparently, Charlaine Harris plans to write three more, for a total of 13 — that means True Blood can go on for at LEAST 10 MORE SEASONS! WOO HOO!

      How far along are you in the series? Have you read Book 4 – Dead to the World – yet? Are you as excited for NEXT SEASON as I am? 😉

      Oooh, good point re: Claude! I can’t wait to see that gorgeous snarky sexpot, and his Gay Night Club of Hot Male Dancers on my TV screen! I was just sitting here trying to think of who they should cast. The description in the book sets the bar PRETTY HIGH in terms of attractiveness . . .

      I know it’s a long shot for such a small role, but I was kind of thinking of Channing Tatum Channing Tatum.

      Or maybe Nick Zano Nick Zano. . .

      Thoughts?

    • i started at the book that begins after the current season (Definitely Dead, i think) and i just checked out a copy of the last book today. when it, the librarian told me the exact same thing & said that i should go back and read the first few books. i’ll probably have to read book 4 though…. 😀
      as for possible Claude’s, those are both VERY good choices, but as much as it hurts me to chose, i have to go with Tatum b/c True Blood could really use some genuine southern actors.

      • Oooh! I TOTALLY forgot Channing Tatum was actually Southern. Now THEY HAVE to cast him. Speaking of casting hot True Blood characters, since you’ve read the last few books, I can ask you. Who do you think should play J.B. DuRone? Or Quinn? 🙂

        I’m in TOTAL agreement with your librarian, by the way. While the first three books might seem a bit redundant to you now (since they parallel the first three seasons, moderately closely), you should DEFINITELY read Book 4! Dead to the World was one of my favorites in the entire series. Other favorites of mine include: Book 3 – Club Dead (based on this current season), and Book 7 – Altogether Dead – The Vampire Conference was AWESOME!

  2. Carol

    1:47 – You know, for some reason, every time I see Lorena, I get that song by Flo Rida stuck in my head. “You spin my head right round, right round, when you go down, when you go down, down.”

    I laughed so hard

    This trailer looks awesome. Not enough words to comment this epicness.

    I’m still reading “Dead to the world”, the forth one, but I don’t care about spoilers. This Claudine had a scene in the first episode, right? But it was cut off.

    • Hey Carol! You’re reading the books too! Oooh, I’m so excited! I can’t wait to hear what you think of them.

      I almost wish I discovered them later, so that I could have them fresh in my mind, while I watched the series. Book 4, huh? You have impeccable timing. I’m so jealous! Since I know you are a Sookie / Eric shipper too, you must be as excited as I am about next season . . . 😉

      It IS a great trailer, isn’t it? Come to think of it, True Blood Extended Trailers are almost ALWAYS amazing. I don’t know who makes them, but he or she deserves a raise STAT. (I kind of wish this one had music, like the last one, though . . . I downloaded that Fresh Blood song from the first Extended Trailer as soon as it aired ;)).

      I think you are right about Claudine being featured early on in the Fourth Book. Unfortunately, I read it a year or so back, so I don’t remember all that well. I DO KNOW she was kind of a big character in the Fifth Book. However, since they seem to be “speeding things up a bit” between the books and the series, I can definitely see why they chose to introduce her now . . .

      Can’t WAIT until Sunday! (I hear Alcide gets naked . . . Shhh). 🙂

  3. Hmmm… It’s nice to see Claudine in the trailer. However, I don’t find her as beautiful as she should be.

    • Hey John! Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting! Look at me finding all these True Blood fans who are also fans of the book series tonight. I am thrilled! (And a little relieved that no one has yelled at me yet for posting that Fairy Godmother picture . . .)

      You know, I was thinking the same thing when I saw Claudine! (And then I felt guilty for thinking that – So I’m glad I’m not the only one.)

      It must be REALLY hard to cast for this show, what with Charlaine Harris describing everyone as Drop Dead Gorgeous. (Plus, based on my interpretation of the books, I think Claudine and Claude were supposed to be the “prettiest” in the whole series . . . aside from Eric of course.)

      It’s funny to think about it now, but you know who would have made a REALLY good Claudine? Deborah Ann Woll (who plays Jessica). She fits the physical description from the book kind of perfectly. Don’t you think?

      Then again, when I first saw Alexander Skarsgard as Eric, I wasn’t really sold on the casting choice either. And look what a 180 I’ve done since then? 🙂 Maybe, Lara Pulver will win us over too . . .

  4. imaginarymen

    Ugh. WHY is Lorena still around??

    And WHY is Hoyt never in the previews?!? It renews my fear ALL OVER AGAIN that they will kill Hoyt!!

    Everything else? I don’t care – as long as there’s Shirtless Jason Stackhouse I’m happy.

    (I think this is kinda my mantra in life ;-0)

    • Now, I could be wrong . . . but speaking as someone who has read the books, I THINK Hoyt will be OK. 😉

      And as far as Lorena, ALSO speaking as someone who has read the books . . . 😉

      “As long as there’s Shirtless Jason Stackhouse I’m happy.” – Another FABULOUS t-shirt phrase! 🙂

      But SURELY there was more to love in this traile, Sister Wife! Sexy Eric / Sookie moments (Baby Blue Panty Dropper Sweater included), Sexy Alcide / Sookie moments, Unintentionally Hilarious Commando Sookie . . . 🙂

      And did I forget to mention (again, because it bears repeating) that NAKED Alcide is coming to next week’s TB installment? Not just shirtless . . . NAKED!

      That’s a whole other ball of . . . well . . . it’s a whole other ball 😉

  5. The trailer looks so effing amazing. I was super excited about everything except for… umm Alcide/Sookie. Yeah sorry as hot as that man is (which come on he totally is) I wouldn’t ship them to save my life. Totally on Team Eric, but the promo had me worried.

    I don’t really like Jason’s new girl, but as long as he keeps his shirt off who cares.

    Tara/Franklin, I’ll let you in on a little secret. I adore that crazy vampire and Tara together. They are so funny.

    I don’t really care about the Sam storyline.

    I want more Hoyt, maybe more Hoyt/Jessica? Please?

    Jesus is saving Layfette lol

    Super amp for the second half of this season!

    • It WAS a fabulous trailer, wasn’t it?

      Even though I ADORE Sexy Alcide, I can see why you wouldn’t want him and Sookie together. (After all, as far as couples go, Sookie and Eric can’t be beat!)

      But, whatever happens between them now, I’m pretty sure Sookie won’t end up with Alcide LONG term. Therefore, I’m OK with a hot kiss or two, short term ;).

      Sadly, Crazy Amy was my favorite of Jason Stackhouse’s girlfriends. Not sure what that says about me. But, who knows, maybe Crystal will grow on me. Since Jason met her, he has been SHIRTLESS a lot more often. So, she has THAT going for her . . .

      Awww, you were a Tara and Franklin fan. Then you must have REALLY not liked this past episode. Franklin creeped me out at first, but these past two episodes, he really started growing on me. I think I’ll actually miss him, which surprises me . . .

      Yeah, I can do without Joe Lee and his trailer trash Dog Pound too. Tommy can stick around though. I think Sam could use a little bro to take care of . . .

      Poor Hoyt! He’s really gotten the shaft this season, after having a nice amount of screen time in Season 2. He’s sort of a minor character in the books, but that’s no excuse not to use him here (Lafayette DIED in Book 2, and look how much screen time HE gets.). Jim Parrack is just so likeable. Bring him back, Alan Ball! Bring him back!

      And I still don’t trust Jesus. I know that sounds bad, but it’s true . . .

      I can’t wait to see what’s in store for our characters in the second half of Season 3 . . .

  6. Cherie

    All I’m gonna say is… amnesia can bring sexytimes like nothing else 🙂

  7. thanks a lot for posting this, I am a big fan of this show!

Leave a comment